02.04.2020

Webinar - The digital economy in Asia: Feminist perspectives

Event announcement: Webinar - "The digital economy in Asia: Feminist perspectives" is hosted by a working group of the regional project "Women and the Future of Work in Asia".

  • Illustration: Kailin Huang

Join our discussions with guest speakers from across the region

This webinar seeks to provide a much-needed feminist perspective on how the Fourth Industrial Revolution is impacting the present and future of women's work in Asian economies.

In specific, the webinar will focus on the gender digital divide and implications of platformisation and automation of value chains on women's work and livelihoods in Asia as well as future priorities for feminist recommendations in the region.

Join us on 22 April at 5pm Singapore time for great discussions with:

Payal Arora, Professor and Chair in Technology, Values, and Global Media Cultures at Erasmus University Rotterdam and author of the book "The Next Billion Users. Digital Life Beyond the West." Her work focuses on internet usage in the Global South, specifically on digital cultures, inequality and data governance.

Anita Gurumurthy, IT for Change, India
Founding member and executive director of IT for Change, where she leads research collaborations and projects in relation to the network society, with a focus on governance, democracy and gender justice. Her work reflects a keen interest in southern frameworks and the political economy of Internet governance, data security.

Anbita Nadine Siregar, founder of Yayasan Generasi Maju Berkarya (Generation Girl). It is an Indonesian-based non-profit organization that provides young girls with both technical and soft skills to become future leaders. Before Generation Girl, Nadine worked at Gojek as a Product Engineer before.

Moderated by Farzana Nawaz, Labour rights expert working in South and South-East Asia.

5pm in Beijing /Manila/Singapore/Ulaanbaatar

4pm in Bangkok/Jakarta 3.30pm in Yangon

3pm in Dhaka 2.30pm in New Delhi

2pm in Islamabad 11am in Berlin/ Amsterdam

 

Please note that registration is closed.

The webinar is the product of the working group on digitalization, that is part of the regional project "Women and the Future of Work in Asia". FES in Asia, IT for Change and WIDE + host the webinar. 

FES in Asia

This website gives you regular updates of FES regional projects and activities across our Asia country offices.

It offers news articles on current debates and a range of research publications and policy briefs to download.  

News

  • 22.05.2020 | Gender and social justice | News

    Out now: Women and the Future of the Digital Economy in Asia

    A new FES study investigates how women in Asia are affected by digitalization and automation and explores feminist perspectives on the digital economy...

    more information

  • 04.05.2020 | Gender and social justice | News

    New FES study: Women and the Future of Care Work in Asia

    Around the world, women conduct the majority of (un)paid care work. In Asia, the care sector is particularly large. A new FES study investigates what...

    more information

  • 08.04.2020 | Cooperation for Peace and Security | News

    Indonesia’s Global Maritime Fulcrum & China’s Belt Road Initiative: A match made at sea?

    China has become Indonesia’s largest trading partner and its third largest foreign investor. Indonesia’s Global Maritime Fulcrum and China’s Belt Road...

    more information

back to top